Presenting Series

Tales from the Nine Bells

Sunday, April 14, 2024

Leighton Concert Hall

Tales from the Nine Bells Music of Chen Yi and Zhou Long


Music of Chen Yi and Zhou Long

In an exciting collaboration exploring creative dialogues between musical traditions and meaningful transnational sonic encounters, violinist/violist Patrick Yim, Assistant Professor in the Department of Music at Notre Dame, performs music showcasing the creative ingenuity of two of the most celebrated Chinese-American composers active today: Chen Yi and Zhou Long.

The world premiere of Bamboo Grove, a newly composed solo violin work by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Zhou Long, will be performed by Yim at the concert. The program also includes another masterpiece by Zhou, the haunting, atmospheric Tales from the Nine Bells, a chamber work for violin, viola, clarinet, and piano commissioned by the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center and inspired by the Chinese folk legend.

The second half features the viola in two works by Chen Yi, winner of the Charles Ives Living Award from the American Academy of Arts and 2006 Pulitzer Prize Finalist: Xian Shi for viola, percussion, and piano (the first viola concerto by a Chinese composer) and Suite for Viola and Chamber Winds inspired by traditional Chinese instruments.

Funding for this concert was provided in part through a grant from the Faculty Research Support Program at the University of Notre Dame.

Co-sponsored by the Department of Music.